Morning Meditation: Embrace the Dawn; Pay Forward Its Fragrant Blessings

Blue flowers

The sun peeks over its bed sheets and stretches wide its haloed arms.

A sparrow breaks out its first keening song, welcoming a new day.

Shhhh. Listen. A whisper and a rustle, flora and fauna turn and rouse.

Morning has broken.

Hello, my friend. It’s time for your own morning sounds.

The sun is now striding across the sky

Already making its rounds

You’ve been granted a new dawn

a second chance to right wrongs

and to fearlessly stake a firm claim on this yer land.

Why not take a moment (Close your eyes) and allow the classic melodies of this song to roll over you?

I hope my sobby poetry and music perked you up. If you’re reading this now, the sun’s probably already high in the sky, an no doubt you’re up and about, minding your business, but have you embraced the dawn of a brand new day?

Take a breath. And another. Isn’t it good to be a alive? If you are at home, and have a rose garden or any other flower garden, take a moment to bask in its beauty. Sniff the fragrance. Tuck that yellow pistil flower there jauntily behind your ear, and let its glow and energy intoxicate your senses and permeate your soul.

Yes! We were lent another day, another opportunity to see the sun rise. Count your blessings. You are Alive.

Dah, So…? Bummer!

Okay, so for you, maybe that realisation for some reason does not knock the socks off your feet with excitement. Mm–mm. Morning has broken but it seems as though someone opened your eyelids just so they could torture you. Your reality is that your life is in disarray. The state of your personal finances have you worried. You feel stuck in a rut. Your body is in pain. You drank too much last night. You are dealing with bad news from your doctor. You are on pins and needles because you are expecting bad news. Bum and Bummer– you just lost someone you love. Someone, Everyone, life has dealt you an unfair hand.The  present and the future look bleak.

Your spirits need need a lift. When I need that something more, I reach for spirits lifter, my Bible. I go for the Psalms which is written by this guy named David. Now David was a real loser for much of his life. Although a king, he had a host of enemies after him. When his troubles got too much for him, he wrote a whole Book pouring out his misery and praying. This book is what we call the Psalms.

Yet, what’s remarkable is that in spite of this bad boy’s behaviour, God was mighty fond of David, (He still punished him for misbehaving), but nonetheless went on to call him ” a man after my own heart.” Weird that God would say that about a wayward, lustful king who once sent a man to the frontline of a battle so he, David could steal his wife, right? But we digress.

So, in Psalms 37, the Psalmist David hears from the Lord, and he writes this Psalm. I believe God knew we would have days like this, so he published it in the Good Blog, I mean Book, so his people would trust him and not fret. In the first few verses, David says:

1 Do not fret because of those who are evil

or be envious of those who do wrong;

2 for like the grass they will soon wither,

like green plants they will soon die away.

3 Trust in the Lord and do good;

dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

4 Take delight in the Lord,

and he will give you the desires of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the Lord;

trust in him and he will do this:

6 He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,

your vindication like the noonday sun.

I’ve been there. As a matter of fact, my heart is not exactly somersaulting with ecstasy this morning either. But you know what? Today affords me another clean page, and a clean page is a;ways an available opportunity to write all the things I pray and yearn for : good health, happiness, a taste of life’s pleasures, freedom from worry and stress. But am I going to give up? You can bet your bottom dollar that I’m not. Because the Good Book also tells me that the race is not for the swift, but for those who endures until the end. So, I’m going to do what my fellow blogger,suthrngirlsings advises and keep “pressing on” .

So let’s start over. Put one foot before the other. Wash your face. Go outside. Lift your face to the morning sun or the east wind if you’re not blessed with sunshine as I am this morning.

Whether or not you believe in a God above as I do, you can still bask in the beauty of his creation. And believe when He says he will  make firm your steps, carry your burdens, and catch you if you fall. He’s your man, the One that’s the Keeper.

Today is your day. Because of His Love, it’s gonna be a brighter, better day.

Finally, be Thankful

Be thankful for the roses in your life. Be grateful for the thorns. The thorns are there to try you and make you strong as gold tried in fire. In due time, keep putting one step firmly before the other, eyes toward the prize, and as we say in Ja., one, one coco at a time, the Lord will fill your basket, enlargen your territory and give you the desires of your heart.

This old Amy Grant song has been playing in my mind all morning, and I figure it’s the voice of God gently reminding me to be thankful for this day. For you, it may or may not be that great marriage or tender love which she sings about in the song. But you may be thankful that you have a great mom, siblings, beautiful children or a pet which loves you unconditionally.

And if you still have none of these blessings on your thank-you bucket list, think of other things that you take for granted about yourself, like your gift of writing or singing, a kind, generous heart, an ability to make others smile, or maybe you are just darn good at what you do at work. Be thankful you have that gift.

If you have a roof over your head and your bed is not  a piece of cardboard on cold concrete under your city’s bridge, then you can certainly thank the Father for that

Listen to Amy Grant as she sings. If you are blessed with a wonderful partner who loves you, then thank the Lord. He’s been doubly good to you.

Finally, because you’ve just taken the time to meditate on these words, embrace the dawn and “smell the roses” with me, here’s a whole gallery of special roses, painted in the colours of Nature’s palette, petals still dew-kissed from the dawn. Wrapped betwixt these petals is a carefully packaged message of hope, affirmation and blessings galore.

Specially ordered and delivered to your front door. Your name is on that card.

So, you go right ahead. Embrace the dawn and allow your senses to be fed.

P.S. For those of my readers who are not awfully fond of roses, thought I’d forget?

A kind gesture from Nature’s Garden; it’s my best bet

You need a morning lifter flower too.

So I went out and picked this bouquet of plumeria and hibiscus just for you.

Have a Doubly good, peaceful and blessed Day!

Pay forward the blessings of this meditation on another friend and reader, I pray.

One thought on “Morning Meditation: Embrace the Dawn; Pay Forward Its Fragrant Blessings

  1. When I read your words in https://taylorkaren.wordpress.com/2014/09/24/morning-meditation-embrace-the-dawn-pay-forward-its-fragrant-blessings/ it stirred my heart. Tears welled up in my eyes. I felt a momentary sting…from my concerns in this world, yet your words also warmed my heart! The video you shared ‘Morning Has Broken performed by Natasha Marsh’ was a Deja vu. Listening reminded me of moments past. It is a lovely rendition of the song and a lovely lady performing it. I also am so grateful to you, and honored. I believe it was the first time someone has shared a link to a piece in my blog, at least that I am aware of. I truly am honored. I felt joy from the second video…and my toes were tapping. 🙂 Your blog piece made me feel hopeful that whether sunshine or rain, God has given me a new day…a new time, more chances to ‘right wrongs’ and to do better. I will hold onto your words …in fact I’m planning to post it on my desktop to read each morning to remind myself …TODAY IS A BRIGHTER (NEW) DAY! Thank you dear one! Everyone needs the spark of hope. I thank you for your sharing your lovely soul. Enlarging Territories and ‘making miracles in me’. http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/avalon/adonai.html

    I pray the prayer of Jabez, 1 Chronicles 4:10 every morning as my feet hit the floor. I have watched as this prayer has begun changing my life since I began praying it months ago. I truly mean that. God really moves when you ask him to ‘bless you indeed’, and to enlarge your territories ….

    Thank you also for the smiles and even a giggle at the thought of receiving flowers. It has been a very long time.

    Your blog piece was lovely as was the sentiment and the flowers….I’m honored again for your sharing the link to the Poem I had almost forgotten http://suthrngirlsings51.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/god-will-move-though-your-prayers/

    …I do pray for those I do not know. And your name will be added to the list….that too is an honor! I hope you have as blessed a day as I have already received and it’s only slightly after the noon hour here….
    …II From me to you…a heartfelt ‘Thank you’!

    Like

Rose for Your Thoughts . . .

